Earlier this evening the unbeaten Uzbekistani super welterweight Israil Madrimov took on Frenchman, Michel Soro in an eliminator for the WBA Super Welterweight championship live on DAZN from Tashkent in Uzbekistan.
The fight ended in controversial fashion at the end of the ninth round. The bell rang signalling the end of the round, but Madrimov was already in a flurry of shots on his opponent, but he carried on throwing bombs after the bell. The referee then ended the contest as Soro could not defend himself. It took ten minutes after the referee stoppage to announce that Madrimov had won the contest by TKO.
The result of this contest will be investigated, with many pundits and journalists calling for a no contest to be the decision and a rematch being awarded between the two fighters. Only time will tell what will happen, but my question is how can a fighter be judged to win a fight, after fighting after the bell and then being stopped?