In boxing, the amateur format does produce fewer knockdowns and implements more standing counts. However, knockdowns do occur and can look more damaging than they are to the referee, which unfortunately Australia's Alex Winwood would find it.
Winwood was squaring off with Zambia's Patrick Chinyemba and would take the first round on the scorecards. Chinyemba felt a sense of urgency and would send Winwood to the canvas early in the second round. As Winwood was climbing to his feet, seemingly unfazed, he was unaware that the referee was waiving the bout off behind him.
What are your thoughts on this stoppage at the Commonwealth Games? ???? #Boxing #CommonwealthGames2022
— IntuBoxing (@IntuBoxing) August 5, 2022
Everyone at the NEC in Birmingham seemed stunned by the decision, especially the commentary, Winwood seemed completely fine and just fell fate to a flash knockdown, however, the referee didn't see that resulting in victory for Chinyemba.