Ward moves to 30-0. But did he get a gift?
In a rather bloody affair, Thomas Patrick Ward battled with Thomas Essomba to a split majority draw. But the real question here is did Ward get a gift in not being awarded his first professional loss.
The three judges couldnt split either man, with each man getting an 88-84 awarded, whilst the final judge couldnt split them at 86-86. It's worth noting that Essomba, who was 10-6 coming into this bout. Was a last minute replacement.
This content has been brought to you by www.theproteinworks.com, leaders in the field of sports nutrition and protein. Use the code DUBOIS37 for 40% off your order!
That being said, he was the busier of the two fighters, handing Ward all the trouble he could handle, specifically with the left hook. An accidental headbutt in the 7th round left Ward with a horrific cut above his left eyebrow. Its probably fair to say that he wont need to pop to the supermarket for a halloween mask, such is the mess his face was left in by his Wolverhampton-based opponent.
The fight was allowed to continue for another round, before the ringside doctor deemed the mess that was Ward's eye too severe to continue. Ward cut a disconsolate figure post-fight. Clearly worried that he might well be handed a loss. But, as mentioned earlier, he received a gift.
In a post-fight cadence, Tony Bellew mentioned that Ward's lack of power, He only has 4KO's in 30 professional outings. May hurt his chances of progession further down the line.